The building, designed by architect Jan Bernard Springer, was built in 1909 as a dissection laboratory for the University of Amsterdam. The massive brick building has a formal facade on the streetside and three wings facing the park. Particular in the existing interior are the walls of glazed brick in the corridors and the large space and truss constructions of the former museum hall. These elements will remain visible and will determine the atmosphere. New interventions have been designed in conjunction. With the relocation of the laboratory, the building lost its original function after almost 80 years. As part of the transformation of the Oosterpark, the building was given a new purpose as a hotel. The ambition of the design by Office Winhov is to strengthen the relationship between the building and the adjacent Oosterpark. Private areas surrounding the building are designed as an extension of the park, allowing it to manifest itself within the heart of the building. A unique semi-public program will be realized in each wing of the building, each with its own relationship to the park. One wing will be expanded with a new volume consisting of hotel rooms and a freely accessible brasserie on the ground floor. When developing the architectural expression for the new building component, a connection with the existing building has been made.